Long Island High School Students Honored with Marcus A. Henry Award for Leadership and Excellence

Each year, Newsday presents the Marcus A. Henry Award to a deserving Long Island high school student who demonstrates exceptional leadership qualities and excels academically, athletically, and in their community. The award, named after former Newsday Sports reporter Marcus A. Henry, aims to recognize and celebrate the achievements of these outstanding individuals.

The most recent recipient of the Marcus A. Henry Award is Kaylise McClure from Sachem North High School. McClure joins a prestigious list of previous winners who have gone on to make significant contributions in various fields.

Joe Percival, the inaugural recipient of the award in 2014, has been setting a precedent in his academic and personal pursuits. After graduating from Princeton University with a degree in psychology, Percival completed a postgraduate program at Hofstra University in preparation for medical school. He plans to apply to medical schools in the downstate area, including Hofstra, Stony Brook, and SUNY schools.

Thomas Cutinella, who tragically passed away in 2014 after suffering a head injury during a high school football game, continues to leave a lasting legacy. His parents, Frank and Kelli, established the Thomas Cutinella Memorial Foundation, which focuses on improving awareness of football-related head injuries, promoting organ donation, and raising funds for scholarships. Their efforts have led to the implementation of “Tommy Tough” football standards in Suffolk County and Nassau County, emphasizing safety practices to reduce illegal hits and flagrant fouls.

Livingstone Harriott Jr., the 2016 awardee, is entering his final year of law school at St. John’s University. After graduation, he plans to take the bar exam and pursue a career as a full-time attorney.

Kelsi King, the 2017 recipient, graduated from Duke University with a degree in neuroscience. Instead of pursuing medical school, she decided to apply her passion for helping people in a different way. King currently works as a Strategy Insights and Planning Associate Consultant at ZS, a consulting and technology firm.

Alexandrea Harriott, the 2018 awardee, graduated from Harvard University with a degree in applied mathematics and global health. She now works as the manager of policy and economic analysis at Charm Economics. Harriott will begin a master’s program in computational analysis and public policy at the University of Chicago, with aspirations to make a global impact through her work with organizations like the CDC or United Nations.

Kenneth Wei, the 2019 recipient, was a standout track athlete at MIT, winning three national championships. He graduated with a degree in bioengineering and is currently pursuing a doctorate in biomedical engineering at MIT. Wei plans to lead his own research team in the future.

Emma Ward, the 2020 awardee, had a successful lacrosse career at Syracuse University. Despite missing her sophomore season due to injury, Ward was a three-time All-ACC selection and a member of the 2023 IWLCA All-American first team. With a degree in forensic science and technology, she aspires to join the FBI and potentially represent the U.S. in the inaugural Olympic women’s lacrosse team in 2028.

Favour Okodogbe, the 2021 recipient, is a rising senior at Caltech studying computer science. She has held internships at NASA and JPMorgan, where she currently works as a data analyst. Okodogbe plans to pursue a graduate degree in data science, focusing on artificial intelligence.

Abigail Rolfe, the 2022 awardee, made history as the first female to earn All-County recognition for baseball. She is now a rising junior at Ohio University and a member of the Reserve Officers’ Training Corps (ROTC). Following her military service, Rolfe plans to teach high school and coach.

Kwasi Bonsu, the 2023 recipient, just completed his first year as a wrestler at Duke University. He earned the award for his exceptional performance in wrestling and his dedication to giving back. Bonsu is an active member of Duke’s Student-Athlete Advisory Committee and the Black Pre-Law Society.